Windows 7 – The Day After

To be honest it’s the day after the day after the day, but let’s not get lost in details. The main point is that I finally abandoned my old and trusted Windows XP for the new and shiny Windows 7.

Having stepped over Windows Vista I knew that this would be a big change but the reviews were good and I was really curious to try the new taskbar which by the way works very nicely. I have to say that I’m no fan of the Show Desktop button being on far right of the taskbar which could be a problem for me if it weren’t for the handy Win+D shortcut.

In terms of applications I haven’t had any compatibility problems although I changed my virtual drive software because with Windows XP I was using the free version of Alcohol 52% which triggered a warning in the Windows 7 upgrade advisor so now I’m using Slysoft Virtual CloneDrive.

The only thing that really annoyed me was the lack of a user interface to change the icon associated to a file type. Changing the default application for a given extension is easy, but if you want more control on the displayed icon you are out of luck. Thankfully you can download this awesome, at least to me, utility to quickly carry out this. Thumbs up to the creator of Types.

Sent from my Windows 7 computer…

Leave a Reply

